CLOSE

You have added 0 item(s) to your cart.

CONTINUE SHOPPING
or

Please wait...

CLOSE
Skip to Content
Free shipping to store or $7.50 ground to your home

MATHEMATICIAN PLAYS STOCK MARK

ISBN: 9780465054817, Title: MATHEMATICIAN PLAYS STOCK MARK
New: $15.95

Availability Availability information : In Stock

In "A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market" best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's "A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper" and "Innumeracy" favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" and Jeremy Siegel's "Stocks for the Long Run," this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.

  • Author:
  • Publisher:PERSEUS DISTRIBUTION SERVICES
  • Binding: Trade Paper
  • ISBN-13:9780465054817
  • ISBN-10: 0465054811